New resident experience.

Want to talk about Second Life in general? Linden Lab? This is the forum for you!
Angr Valeur

New resident experience.

Post by Angr Valeur »

Hi,
My name is Angr and I'm a new resident to Second Life. Today I wanted to and did briefly attend an NCI class, Basic Scripting. The instructor for the class showed up very very late. Only after a substitute started ill-prepared but good intentioned to teach the course, did the instructor show up. Once the course was officially under way I encountered an inability to complete the first task of creating a basic prim. With the avatars around me and counting the instructor the rendering cost wasn't astronimcal, but it was still moderately high for only 3 people besides myself. Lag seemed to be the cause for my problem. I tried 'Ctrl+B', it brought up the Edit Tool, as the instructor instructed but I could not create a prim there. I was able to create a prim in the local sandbox but not in the classroom. The instructor was rather quick, before I tested my ability to create a prim in the sandbox, to hastily tell me that "I don't know what to tell you" while never once pausing to ensure I had the right idea and or no object active. My experience was bad. As such I'd like to offer this feedback to those in charge. I don't think this happens all of the time but as a community for new residents it would benefit Second Life to ensure new residents aren't treated like burdens to the class. It would help in the retention of new residents and students. If a substitute is ever needed, make sure they have the necc tools available to pick up for the instructor who is not able to teach their scheduled course. All in all I feel a little alienated but I'd like to see Second Life get a second wind so this is my attempt at offering feedback that I feel will improve user experience. I'm not trolling or trying to evoke annoyance, it's just feedback.
Janet Rossini

Re: New resident experience.

Post by Janet Rossini »